On the Wings of Spring

1503_birds-0542

Interior Alaska is a land of Serious White for much of the year. November. December. January, February and March. But here comes April and winter’s coat is looking a little tattered. It’s a good thing that next week is Spring Carnival, otherwise the river ice would be two fragile for the games.

I walked to town today under one of those brilliant skies that leave you blind when you go indoors. It was a balmy, 40 degree afternoon. Windbreaker weather – no gloves, no hood required. Delicious!

On the way home I watched the birds flitting through the trees and captured this one feeding on a black spruce. I first thought it might be a juvenile gray jay but the coloration doesn’t appear right. If you know what it is, please leave me a note.

10 thoughts on “On the Wings of Spring

    • Cornel, it’s conical but I can’t tell the color. I can see it is dark, but not sure if it is brown or black. I’ll look again at the crossbills but I think the bill is wrong. The cones are 4-5 cm and the bird appears to be about three times that to me.

Leave a Reply

