It’s a Bit Chilly Here!

trapline-1020685

Stopping on the way home from trapping to chase down some grouse. If you can see, you can shoot

trapline-1020698

The cold settled in Christmas eve as the temperature plummeted to 40 below. We’ve been locked in a deep freeze ever since and the mercury stands at -50 degrees F today. Christmas day I roasted some ducks and walked over to share a wonderful dinner with friends. Lindsay couldn’t attend; she is visiting family in Dallas for the holiday.

The first year I was here I went walking at 50 below. Been there, done that. I’m staying inside today.

15 thoughts on “It’s a Bit Chilly Here!

  1. WOW! How was it to walk in this temperature, dear Dave…. I can’t imagine… I can’t. And also how can you take pictures too? It should be the coldest day now in there… Take care and stay in warm ๐Ÿ™‚ Photographs are amazing and almost giving the idea of these moments… Thank you, with my love, nia

    • FeyGirl, you are the greatest. Hope the trapping posts didn’t upset you. I know they might be offensive to some. Hoping, too, that 2014 is full of many outdoor adventures!

      • Ah, I need to seriously return to my outdoor adventures (and blogging) โ€” I’ve been lazy and overwhelmed with silliness! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Of course, no offense! Trapping and hunting for survival and as a way of life exist throughout the world. When it’s done with a sense of honor for all involved, it’s part of the cycle.

  2. These pictures make me miss last year when I went trapping with Franklin. It’s an incredible experience. One we will both never forget!

Leave a Reply

