Young Boy – Dallas School For the Blind

In the 1950’s my father documented children at Dallas School For the Blind. I grew up looking at these pictures like some people look through scrapbooks and they still deeply move me. This boy is one of my favorites. He learned about life without every seeing it – touch and taste, sound and smell were his avenues to the world. He would have been about my age, and I wonder what ever happened to him. In 1981, a Ms. Marcus used some of Dad’s photographs to illustrate her book “Being Blind.” Dad received a thank you letter from the publisher which he cherished and we still have. These images have been scanned from Dad’s original fiber prints.

5 thoughts on “Young Boy – Dallas School For the Blind

  1. These are powerful images. Maybe they caught me at the right moment, but I find them incredibly moving…
    This is what photography is about.

Leave a Reply

